Photo courtesy of Tarleton State Athletics
Photo courtesy of Tarleton State Athletics

SPOKANE, WA – Tarleton’s historic run to the NCAA Division II Women’s Cross Country National Championship has come to end with the TexAnns finishing 24th at Plantes Ferry Sports Complex Saturday afternoon.

“We started the season unranked and we’ve finished the season 24th in the nation. That’s not too shabby,” said Tarleton head coach Pat Ponder. “I know these ladies worked really hard and would have liked to place higher, but we did the best we could today. I’m very proud of them.”

Tarleton’s only senior, Lindsey Hinton, led the way again for the TexAnns. After pacing Tarleton in the regional meet and leading the entire field en route to an individual Lone Star Conference Championship, Hinton crossed the finish line in 59th overall with a time of 22:10.3.

“What a great leader she’s been for us this season,” said Ponder. “She’s been the leader since day one and she’s a big part of our success this season – not just for what she’s done on the course, but off the course and in practice as well.”

Aly Coughlin, the LSC Newcomer of the Year, also finished in the national top 100 with a 95th place finish in a time of 22:34.7. Katelin Huckabee and the LSC Freshman of the Year, Audrey Shelton, cracked the national top 200 in 119th and 160th with times of 22:47.2 and 23:11.4, respectively.

Rounding out the TexAnn runners were Tylo Farrar (24:13.5) in 214th place, Sarai Clendenin (24:52.7) in 231st place and Lillianna Casteneda (25:37.4) in 239th place.

The nation’s top individual runner was Jennifer Agnew from the University of Mary with a time of 20:50.7. The national championship team was Grand Valley State with 54 points and four runners in the nation’s top 20.

The TexAnns began the season unranked in the region and the nation. The USTFCCCA will release a final national poll next week but the TexAnns are currently the second-leading vote getter sitting outside the national polls.