(Tarleton Sports courtesy photo.)
(Tarleton Sports courtesy photo.)

WICHITA FALLS – The men and women’s cross country teams return to Stephenville with third and fifth place, respectively, from the Lone Star Conference Championships.

For the Texans, it was Dylan Willett again leading the way with a sixth-place finish in the men’s 8K running 25:52.9. Willett, who came into the meet with three top-three finishes and a win at the ASU Blue & Gold Classic, posted his best finish at the LSC championships besting his 13th-place finish at last years championships en route to earning all-LSC status.

Following Willett were Dallas Rushing (15th), Thorne Pettigrew (17th) and Peyton Heinig (18th) who all finished within a minute of Willett – running 26:24.4, 26:48.2, and 26:48.4, respectively.

Rounding out the men’s 8K for Tarleton were Mason Wrobel in 34th (27:49.2), Robert Pereira in 36th (27:50.2) and Andrew Clark in 43rd (28:18.9). Kade Cowan (28:21.3), Luke Scribner (28:35.8) and Stefan Campos (30:09.7) finished as Tarleton’s eighth, ninth and 10th runners.

“I’m proud of how the men raced today, we still have to learn to race in big meets and compete, but I am happy with the effort I saw today,” said head cross country coach Pat Ponder.

For the women, Tylo Farrar led the TexAnns finishing 11th in 23:25.8 to help her team finish fifth behind Midwestern State, West Texas A&M, Eastern New Mexico and Angelo State.

Pamela Marquez finished 19th in 23:58.3 followed by Lauren Finley in 24th (24:27.6), Haley Dennard in 31st (25:14.0), Makinsey Beesley in 35th (25:41.1) and Ashley Dush in 43rd (28:21.9).

Marquez, Dennard, Beesley and Dush, all freshmen, competed in the Lone Star Championships for their first time Saturday.

“Four of our women competed at the LSC championships for the first time in their careers and they did a good job of stepping up to the challenge,” said Ponder. “We knew coming in it was going to be a challenge but these women stepped in and got after it, that’s all you can ask for as a coach”

Following the championships Dylan Willett, Dallas Rushing and Tylo Farrar were named All-LSC for their performances.

“It is an honor to be named All-LSC,” said Pat Ponder. “They work hard everyday and I couldn’t be more proud of them. We’ll look at the results, regroup and move on from here.”