UMHBvRedlands14_2BELTON – The University of Mary Hardin-Baylor football team claimed a total of 20 spots on the American Southwest Conference All-Conference Teams released today (November 20th). Teidrick Smith was also named ASC Defensive Player of the Year and Defensive Lineman of the Year. Pete Fredenburg was voted ASC Coach of the Year.

umhbvskean_6Smith, a sophomore defensive end from Hallettsville High School, was voted ASC Defensive Player of the Year and Defensive Lineman of the Year while also taking a spot on the All-Conference First Team. Smith leads the Cru with 9.0 sacks and 13.0 tackles for loss. He also has 38 total tackles, an interception return for a touchdown, eight pass break-ups, a forced fumble and a fumble recovery. He is the fifth straight UMHB player to earn ASC Defensive Player of the Year and is only the fifth player in conference history to take Defensive Player of the Year and Defensive Lineman of the Year Honors in the same season.

Smith is joined on the All-Conference First Team Defense by linebacker Deshon Kinsey and Cru Back Eric Allen. Kinsey, a senior from Mart High School, has 47 total tackles, 8.5 tackles for loss and three forced fumbles despite missing three games with an injury. Allen, a senior from San Antonio Stevens High School, has a team-high 52 tackles. He also has three interceptions, nine pass break-ups and a punt return for a touchdown.

UMHB placed four players on the First Team All-Conference Offense. Slot Back Marcus Wimby is a junior from Irving Ranchview High School. Wimby leads the Cru with 45 catches for 457 yards and two touchdowns. Tight end Eric Nelson, a senior from Canyon Lake High School, has 23 receptions for 508 yards and six touchdowns. Running back Duane Thompson, a freshman from Woodson High School in Washington, D.C., leads UMHB with 621 yards and 15 rushing touchdowns on 113 carries. Offensive tackle Jose Ostos, a senior from El Paso Del Valle High School, has helped clear the way for the Cru rushing attack to average 249.5 yards per game and 5.0 yards per carry.

Four UMHB players were voted to the ASC All-Conference Second Team Offense. Wide receiver Kamray Runnels, a senior from Edna High School, has 40 catches for a team-best 711 yards and eight touchdowns. He also has two punt returns for scores. Running Back Malcolm Miller, a junior from Garland High School, has 209 yards and three touchdowns on just 36 carries and is also a punishing blocker. Kicker Jacob O’Neill, a junior from Deer Park High School, is 10-19 on field goals and 62-66 on extra points and leads the ASC in kick scoring with 92 points. Offensive guard Broderick Jenkins, a sophomore from Frisco Centennial High School, is also one of the highest-grading linemen on the Cru front.

UMHB had five Second All-Conference Defensive players. Defensive tackle Oliver Stone is a senior from Fort Worth All Saints High School. Stone has 28 total tackles, 5.0 tackles for loss and 2.5 sacks. Defensive end John Thorne, a junior from Bastrop High School, has 25 tackles, 7.5 tackles for loss and 2.5 sacks. Linebacker Matt Cody, a sophomore from Clear Springs High School, has 37 tackles, 5.0 tackles for loss and five pass break-ups. Cornerback Kris Brown, a sophomore from Sealy High School, leads the Cru with four interceptions and 11 pass break-ups. He also has 46 tackles and 5.5 tackles for loss. Punter Baylor Mullins, a sophomore from Merkel High School, is averaging 37.4 yards per boot and has put 15 of those kicks inside the opponent’s 20-yard line.

Offensive tackle Connally Fuller (So., Richardson Berkner HS) and center Sterling Cantue (Sr., Beaumont Central HS) were named Honorable Mention All-Conference after helping anchor the Cru offensive line. Quarterback Zach Anderson, a junior from Odem High School, also earned a spot on the Honorable Mention All-Conference offense. Anderson has thrown for 2,047 yards and 17 touchdowns this season and also has three rushing touchdowns.

Mullins also earned a spot on the Honorable Mention All-Conference Defense. He has 46 tackles, three interceptions, 4.0 tackles for loss and four pass break-ups on the year.

Quarterback Blake Jackson, a sophomore from Pasadena Dobie High School, was also named to the ASC Sportsman Team of the Year.

Fredenburg earned ASC Coach of the Year honors for the fifth straight season and ninth time overall. He has guided the Cru to a fifth consecutive undefeated regular season and the team’s 12th ASC Championship.

This is the second ASC All-Conference honor for Smith, Wimby, Mullins, Cantue, Kinsey, Nelson, Allen, Ostos, Runnels and Anderson. The other UMHB players are earning All-Conference honors for the first time in their careers.

The Cru will return to action with a 12:00 PM kickoff against Texas Lutheran University in an NCAA Division III National Championships First Round game at Crusader Stadium on Saturday. UMHB is in the NCAA postseason for the 11th straight year and the 13th time in the last 14 seasons. The Cru joins Mount Union as the only two Division III programs to have won at least one postseason game in each of the last ten seasons.