UMHBvRedlands14_2BELTON — University of Mary Hardin-Baylor head football coach Pete Fredenburg has been named NCAA Division III Region III Coach of the Year by the American Football Coaches Association for the third straight season. Fredenburg guided the Cru to an 11-1 overall record and UMHB went 5-0 in American Southwest Conference play to win its 12th ASC title this season. The Cru posted the fifth consecutive 10-0 regular season in the program’s history this year and advanced to the NCAA Division III National Championships. The Cru has advanced to at least the Second Round of the playoffs in 11 straight seasons, something only Mount Union can match in Division III.

“The Regional Coach of the Year Award may have my name on it but it is really a credit to the hard work of our assistant coaches and players,” Fredenburg said. “I’d like to thank all of our staff and players for helping make awards like this possible. It is also a huge honor since this award comes from the coaches from around the country and it is always special to be honored and recognized by your peers.”

Fredenburg is the only head coach the Cru has had in the 17-year history of the program. He has guided UMHB to a 170-36 record and 13 NCAA Division III National Championships appearances during his tenure. The Cru has won or shared 12 ASC championships in that time. This is the eighth AFCA Regional Coach of the Year honor for Fredenburg. He was also named Region III Coach of the Year following the 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007, 2010, 2012 and 2013 seasons. Fredenburg is now fourth on the all-time list of AFCA Regional Coach of the Year honorees with those eight selections. Mount Union’s Larry Kehres is the all-time leader with 17 selections, Penn State’s Joe Paterno was honored 11 times and Danny Hale of West Chester and Bloomsburg State has ten AFCA Regional Coach of the Year awards. Fredenburg also won ASC Coach of the Year honors for the ninth time in his career this season.

The American Football Coaches Association Regional Coach of the Year honors are voted on by active members of the AFCA. The AFCA recognizes five regional Coach of the Year winners in each of the Association’s five divisions: Football Bowl Subdivision, Football Championship Subdivision, Division II, Division III and NAIA. The winners are selected by active members of the Association who vote for coaches in their respective regions and divisions.