Aztex-Logo-With-Gold-Star-72dp_squareiweb-feature-atx-pro-challenge-640x360AUSTIN – Major League Soccer is coming to Austin as the Austin Aztex present the inaugural ATX Pro Challenge, a four team competition bracket. The tournament will be held Friday, February 13 through Sunday, February 15, 2015 at University of Texas at Austin’s Mike A. Myers Stadium and will feature three MLS teams.

This marks the first time at least three MLS squads will visit Austin to participate in a tournament.

“We are on a mission to turn Austin into a soccer city and why not kick off the Austin Aztex preseason big by hosting three top MLS clubs in its inaugural tournament,” said Aztex CEO Rene van de Zande. “This is a great opportunity for Austin to witness four high-level soccer games over the course of three days in the heart of the city. We hope that many fans will come out and see their own Austin Aztex compete with the best of the best in U.S. soccer. ”

D.C. United, Columbus Crew SC, and FC Dallas will join USL PRO’s Austin Aztex in a four-team, single elimination tournament. On Friday, Crew SC and FC Dallas will play in the first semifinal followed by the hometown Aztex making their professional debut versus D.C. United in the second semifinal. Sunday will feature both consolation and championship matches.

Austin Aztex Present: ATX Pro Challenge
Mike A. Myers Stadium
Friday, February 13

Columbus Crew SC vs. FC Dallas, 5:45 p.m. CT
Austin Aztex vs. D.C. United, 8 p.m. CT

Sunday, February 15
Third-place Game, 1 p.m. CT
Championship Game, 3:15 p.m. CT

General Admission tickets for the ATX Pro Challenge start as low as $20 for a Friday Pass, $30 for a Sunday Pass, or $40 for the full, four game Weekend Pass. Tickets for the ATX Showdown will go on sale on Friday, January 9 and can be purchased online at or through Texas Box Office.

“This tournament is a bold testimony to our commitment—to bring the highest levels of soccer to Central Texas,” said Aztex Board Member Bobby Epstein. “February 13 will introduce the professional Aztex to the community and will introduce the community to the largest major league competition ever to contend in our area.”

Columbus Crew SC will travel to Austin for the first time since announcing its affiliation agreement with the Aztex in November. Evolving to Columbus Crew SC (Soccer Club) in 2015 ahead of the organization’s 20th season, Crew SC is Ohio’s Major League Soccer club. Owned and operated by Precourt Sports Ventures (PSV), and the League’s first club, it won its first MLS Cup championship in 2008, and has also won the 2002 Lamar Hunt U.S. Open Cup and MLS Supporters’ Shield titles in 2004, 2008 and 2009. 2014 is the Crew’s 16th season at first-of-its-kind Crew Stadium, the first topflight soccer-specific facility built in the United States.

FC Dallas is owned and operated by Hunt Sports Group. The professional team plays from March to November at Toyota Stadium in Frisco, Texas. One of the first soccer-specific stadiums built in the United States, the venue plays host to Major League Soccer matches, concerts, international soccer matches and high school football. The 145-acre Toyota Soccer Center also includes 17 regulation-sized, tournament-grade soccer fields and is also home to the organization’s nationally-renowned youth development system.

D.C. United one of the most successful professional soccer organizations in the history of the United States. United is four-time MLS Cup Champions (1996, 1997, 1999 and 2004) and winners of the 1996, 2008 and 2013 U.S. Open Cup, the 1998 CONCACAF Champions Cup, the 1998 Interamerican Cup and the 1997, 1999, 2006 and 2007 MLS Supporters Shield.