Texas Lutheran kicker Tyler Hawkins boots field goal twice [VIDEO]

Texas Lutheran kicker Tyler Hawkins converted a field goal that was initially blocked, but kicked it again after it bounced on the ground to lift the ball through the uprights for 3 points.

With seven seconds remaining in the first half of Division III game against Belhaven (Miss.) Saturday afternoon in Seguin, Hopkins had his 18-yard field goal blocked by a Blazer defender. Only no one from Belhaven or Texas Lutheran had the chance to get to the loose ball.

But was the kick legal?

The NCAA’s football rulebook says “a player shall not kick a loose ball,” and doing so is a 10-yard penalty that carries a loss of down, SBNation reported.

“A scrimmage kick that fails to cross the neutral zone continues in play. All players may catch or recover the ball behind the neutral zone and advance it,” SBNation reported, citing the NCAA rulebook.

It overshadowed the first shutout victory for Texas Lutheran since 2008 as the Bulldogs intercepted three passes in the 37-0 win.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.